Election Results: #11 Minnetonka Patch Story of 2012

We're counting down the most popular, inspiring, interesting and tragic stories of the year.

Voters were glued to their TVs and computer screens, waiting for results on the night of the Presidential Election. Minnetonka Patch readers were also concerned with finding out their local results in the post: Minnetonka Election Results Are In: Who Will Represent You?

It was a good night for local Democrats, in Minnetonka and across the state. Terri Bonoff (DFL) kept her Senate seat in District 44 with a win against Republican David Gaither.

Yvonne Selcer (DFL) defeated incumbent Republican Kirk Stensrud by 202 votes in a heated race for House Seat 48A.

Incumbent David Hann in Senate District 48 was the lone Republican voted in by local voters. He narrowly defeated Laurie McKendry.

"We came close," McKendry wrote early Wednesday on Facebook. "We were within 3 percent and that is an incredible race against a 10-year incumbent."

DFL candidate Melisa Franzen will represent Senate District 49 at the Capitol next year in a hard-fought race against former Republican State Rep. Keith Downey, by more than five percentage points.

DFL incumbent John Benson will continue to represent House District 44B after beating Rebublican Mark Stefan.

Read more about Election Day:

• Minnetonka Election Results Are In: Who Will Represent You?

• Barack Obama Re-Elected President

• 2012 Election Brings Little Change to Hennepin County Board

• Erik Paulsen Keeps U.S. District 3 Congress Seat



More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »