.

Yvonne Selcer Files Complaint Over Republican Mailer

A mailer sent out this past weekend by the House Republican Campaign Committee claims Selcer did not pay her taxes on time, which Selcer says is a lie.

Yvonne Selcer, who is challenging Kirk Stenrud for the State Representative District 48A seat representing Minnetonka and Eden Prairie, filed a complaint Monday with the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

In the complaint form for violation of the Fair Campaign Practices Act, Selcer sited a mailer paid for by the House Republican Campaign Committee that stated “Selcer even failed to pay her own 2012 property taxes on time.”

Selcer said she did pay her taxes on time in 2012, as evidenced by the Hennepin County Attorney’s public website

"My husband and I take our reputations very seriously," Selcer said in a news release. "We’ve never had a late property tax payment in our lives, so to have someone intentionally spread a lie like this is disappointing."

View the mailer in question, Selcer's complaint and Selcer's property tax information included in this article.

Selcer stated in the complaint that the mailer could not only harm her reputation but also the reputation of her husband Chuck, a CPA who has lectured nationwide on the subject of ethics.

Meeche Miller October 30, 2012 at 01:48 PM
So, when did she pay her taxes? What was the date? Did they reach their destination on time? Let's not just go along witsh this democrat Selcer without verifying that she is telling the truth - Sorry to find that the Patch is just another liberal democrat rag
Becky Glander (Editor) October 30, 2012 at 05:20 PM
Just an update for those who want to insult me: I requested a response from the House Republican Campaign Committee but still have not heard back. I will post it immediately if/when I get a call/email.
C Smith October 30, 2012 at 06:07 PM
Beavis, I have been working hard the past couple of weeks, making money to help support my family. Becky- there was no mention in the article about contacting anyone from the GOP. In order to present a fair and balanced article, It would make sense to get feedback and response from the other side. Maybe it is my mistake in thinking that the Patch was running news, instead of opinion pieces. In my journalism classes, I was taught that journalists need to be objective and present both sides of the story and let the reader come to their own conclusions.
Political Mama October 31, 2012 at 12:53 AM
It was a PAC ad. Read the stuff the pro Selcer PACs put out. Selcer attack ads are 2 to 1. The response makes me think it is true.
Kathleen Nelson October 31, 2012 at 01:43 AM
I have had it with these negative mailers. If you cannot see how either side is trying to manipulate you with these full color, expensive ads then you are a dope. And by that, I mean you are willing to be duped by anyone with the money to send out these pieces of trash. You probably believe everything you see on the internet or get in emails sent by your wing-nut friends. There are websites that are non-biased and will give you the TRUTH without all this propaganda! The only reason I like these is that they are giving business to the Post Office! When I go through my mail, if I see this type of mailing, it is immediately recycled. I would advise everyone to do the same.
Meeche Miller October 31, 2012 at 02:14 PM
Becky gets on her high horse when she thinks we want the truth about when Selcer actually paid her taxes! Quit the biased reporting and get the facts - just answers please not excuses for your liberal democrat choice who claims the Republican lied - the public should not have to sort this out when this newspaper is the one who printed the first story about Selcer
Stan Berris October 31, 2012 at 04:25 PM
I did contact the GOP personally and the only response was "NO COMMENT." The GOP proxy (Mr. Smith) for Stensrud at the last campaign Fourm I attended would not discuss the mailer or any other topic at the fourm (he just read a statement) and would not address any of my questions after the fourm. The GOP refused to discuss this as they are obviously wrong in priting such a bold-faced lie! Additionally, I sent Rep. Stensrud an email asking for a response and as expected, I received no response. Check out the website for Yvonne at www.YvonneSelcer.com and see the tax payment receipt! It seems the only people not wanting to talk are the people behind the ad. And it was a GOP ad, not a PAC ad. It is printing at the bottom of the mailer. It is not very hard to get the facts. I would suggest you do that before you make anymore comments, Mr. Smith. It wouldn't surprise me if you are the same Mr. Smith that refused to talk to me about this issue. What's your real name? You have mine.
ChanFan November 01, 2012 at 03:20 AM
Please take notice of how Editor Becky Glander couldn't report Yvonne Selcer's complaint fast enough and Ms. Glander wasted no time pursuing "a response from the House Republican Campaign Committee". Please also take notice of how Editor Beckly Glander has REFUSED to put any effort to get a quote from Forest Hills Community Education about how consummate local DFL activist Mr. "Two Putt" Johnson crashed his way into a private (paid facility) Rep. Stensrud volunteer action event with 60+ volunteers working and brought the entire Rep. Stensrud campaign volunteer action to a standstill while Mr. Johnson disrupted the event with his cell phone camera/video running and Mr. Johnson REFUSED to leave. This was reported by Forest Hills Community Education who witnessed it! Yvonne Selcer and her campaign personally benefited from Rep. Kirk Stensrud's event being disrupted but yet Yvonne Selcer remains silent. Patch remains silent. Eden Prairie News remains silent. All the while Mr. "Two Putt" Johnson is re-tweeting about that days events as if he was publicly bragging about it.
ChanFan November 01, 2012 at 03:32 AM
Everyone knows that if the local GOP had disrupted Yvonne Selcer's campaign like the local DFL did to Rep. Kirk Stensrud, Becky Glander, Mtka Patch, and Eden Prairie News would report on it like Rep. Kirk Stensrud was causing the world to end. You know, exactly like when these same groups reported on Rep. Stensrud using the Eden Prairie city logo in a local Seniors event brochure, while Eden Prairie city staff plastered the same exact event with their city logo, and Rep. Kirk Stensrud FOLLOWED state law, while the reporting kept repeating the same lies and even Hennepin County Deputy Attorney Brown tried to score some future points with his local DFL voters (his boss should look out next election) while he conveniently overlooked Minnesota Campaign Finance law. Patch just needs to register themselves as Lobbyists and get it over with.
Lori Martin November 01, 2012 at 04:10 AM
Good for Ms. Selcer for fighting back! So tired of the negative ads. They're a real turnoff. I want to know about the positive things that a candidate plans to do instead of hearing a bunch of negative comments about the opposing candidate which as we all should know by now may or may not be true.
ChanFan November 01, 2012 at 04:48 AM
Mr. Berris, where is your outrage for the almost daily mailers with "bold face lies" against Rep. Kirk Stensrud? Do you not realize that since you are a "Strong DFL'er" (noted from your comments), the MN-DFL and other outside Liberal groups don't bother wasting postage on mailing you all the lie-infested anti-Rep. Kirk Stensrud postcards? Can you even fathom how many mailers have lied claiming Rep. Kirk Stensrud has hurt school children and hurt Minnesota schools? For the record, most of them are paid for by the MN-DFL Party. For you dupes out there, I have news for you, the "school shift" has impacted exactly ZERO children, and your Gov. Dayton VETOED an attempt to partially pay the "school shift" future dollars back. I can hear the dupes now, "wait, that can't be true, that's not what I was told...Republican's hate kids and they hate education and they hate teachers, right?." Can you even fathom how many mailers have also actually attempted to publicly ridicule Rep. Kirk Stensrud's physical appearance. Yes, you heard that correctly, his physical appearance. Mr. Berris, you would have a lot more credibility if your complaints weren't so one-sided to the "Pro-Yvonne Selcer Campaign". You are behaving no differently than these mailers with your feigned complaints about JUST the "anti-Selcer" ones.
Tommy Johnson November 01, 2012 at 12:59 PM
The Star Tribune has endorsed Yvonne Selcer: http://www.startribune.com/opinion/editorials/176672191.html?vi_adid=W From it: ***"Contrary to allegations of poor fiscal management, DFLer Selcer, as the board's treasurer and later its chair, led a turnaround that a 2011 independent audit report praised for "tough decisions." The district came out of statutory operating debt and well into the black on her watch, while holding spending essentially flat for seven years. Her record also includes a pay-for-performance teacher compensation plan that could be a model for the state."*** Today's Minnesota Republican Party is around $2,000,000 in debt and behind on their rent. Today's Republicans are the LAST people that should be lecturing anyone about "fiscal responsibility" because the fact is: they are not. Vote straight DFL this year and throw the bums out.
Mark Kulda November 01, 2012 at 04:55 PM
This whole 'controversy' could be ended with a simple piece of journalism by Becky Glander. Rather than reporting on mailers and complaints, she could just check the sourcing from both campaigns. The Selcer campaign says the taxes were paid and shows a printout of the Hennepin Co. PINS system that shows they were paid. But the printout was from Sept. 27th.....12 days after the taxes were due. The GOP mailer sources this allegation of 'late taxes' on a check of the Hennepin PINS system on Sept. 16th, the day AFTER the taxes were due. The correct thing for Becky Glander to do would be to make one phone call and ask one question: On what exact date and time were the taxes paid on the Selcer's property. If the answer was anytime after Sept. 15th, then the mailer was correct and the complaint would be unwarranted. I hope she makes the call. If she was a true journalist (as all Patch editors and writers should strive to be), then she will.
Thinking person in Mtka November 01, 2012 at 08:52 PM
More flat out lies- just like Romney - apparently the fish really does stink from the head. We need to dump as many Republicans as possible, including Stensrud this time. *Ditto* for Hann (Stensrud's puppeteer) in the state Senate. We now know why the voters correctly put the GOP out of power for 40 years before this cycle. Maybe the interval this time should be more like 60 years ...
Thinking person in Mtka November 01, 2012 at 09:55 PM
Hmmm...I have been paying property tax in Hennepin county for over 20 years and the due dates have always been May 15th and October 15th.
Beavis Friesl November 01, 2012 at 11:35 PM
Mark, you would be best off staying out of this. It is obvious that you don't what you are talking about. Take the time to educate yourself. Start by reading the StarTribune's endorsement of Selcer.
Beavis Friesl November 01, 2012 at 11:40 PM
Political Mimi, every time I read one of your posts, the same thought keeps running through my mind: Open mouth... Insert thigh...
ghoweey November 02, 2012 at 12:21 AM
FOR Beavis Friesl, The Star Tribune isn't realiable. That is why 25 out of 26 Mn newspapers have endorsed Romney. You may want to think again about even referencing this paper. Remember they went bankrupt. In fact, fiancially, they are not on good footing
ghoweey November 02, 2012 at 12:26 AM
Why is Selcer's tax receipt she posted dated 10/27/2012? Lets ask her to supply her canceled check. If I were a lawyer, this is what I would ask
Beavis Friesl November 02, 2012 at 01:36 AM
If you were a lawyer? Ghoweey you don't even have a job. Hey, maybe your window washing buddy will hire you. Hahaha
Dan 4140172 November 02, 2012 at 04:55 AM
The Republicans lied and they can't admit it because people would see their phoniness and stupidity. If the Selcers' taxes were overdue, where is the penalty? When someone pays a bill late, there is a penalty or a late fee. One of the documents above is a copy of the Selcers' property tax bill. For where it says "penalties," it shows "$0.00". Is Hennipen County being nice to the Selcers with a break in letting them pay late with no penalty? Why didn't Republican Keith Downey get this break? Where is the proof from the Republican party that the Selcers were late in payment? I'd like to see a screen shot of the property tax. Does the Republican party have the evidence to back their claim? No, the Republican party made a claim they can't prove. The Republican party lied. All Republicans can do now is whine. Blame the editor. Start fights. Reagan must be so proud of you.
Mark Kulda November 02, 2012 at 05:39 AM
Thinking person.....you are right....I accidentally said "September" when I meant "October." To Beavis.....I don't think you should accuse anybody of not knowing what they are talking about. It's pretty clear that there is an easily resolvable dispute and I'm only trying to point out that there is a great opportunity to do some exculpatory journalism here by the Patch. (I'm a big believer in the local Patches as a former journalist....we need just these kinds of sources of journalism to do exactly what I've pointed out). There was a mailer that made a claim and that claim can be easily substantiated. The candidate tried to defend herself by publishing a screenshot of a webpage as proof, but there is a 12 day gap in her proof. Her proof shows the taxes were paid by the 27th, but that's not on the 16th when the mailer said it checked and they were unpaid at the time. Maybe there's a gap between the time the payment is made and the notation is made on the website......that certainly could be the case. But it is also possible that the taxes were indeed not paid on time...but were paid by the 27th when the screen shot was taken. Dan points out that there is also a notation that shows no current late penalty. But that doesn't necessarily mean that there wasn't already a penalty assessed and paid between the time they were due and the time the screenshot was taken. All of this could be solved of course by one simple phone call that I hope Becky makes and then reports on.
Dan 4140172 November 02, 2012 at 12:21 PM
Just because the Republican party says something, does NOT make it true. Penalties/Late fees do NOT disappear when a person pays off their property taxes or any other bill. If the Selcers were late with their payment, there would be a penalty showing on their property tax bill. There is NOT a penalty showing on their property tax bill, so they paid their tax bill on time. The Republican party lied and the Republicans owe the Selcers and the citizens of Minnesota apologies for lying. Checking out Republican Keith Downey's property tax bill, it now shows his property taxes paid off and a penalty of $34.52. His penalty did NOT go away when he paid off his property taxes late. Are we to believe Hennipen County gave a break to a Democrat but not a Republican? I don't know how anyone can do any further investigation here until the Republican party explains what caused them to put lies on their mailers. We need the Republican party to explain themselves, but it is doubtful they will admit their lying.
ChanFan November 02, 2012 at 01:03 PM
I find it irresponsible of Patch Editor Becky Glander to try and pass off that attached "property tax information" printout dated 10/27/2012 as evidence that Yvonne Selcer's paid her taxes on time. Yvonne Selcer has made a public claim that the Minnesota Republican Party is lying. Patch Editor Ms. Glander can read, just as I can, the attached Minnesota Republican Party mailer, footnote #5. It clearly makes reference to accessing Hennepin County property tax website on 10/16/2012, and Yvonne Selcer's property taxes were not recorded as being paid on the website at that time, which is after the due date of 10/15/2012. The document provided by Patch and Ms. Glander is date 10/27/2012. Please take note that Patch Editor Ms. Glander makes no mention of the 10/27/2012 printout date and Ms. Glander appears to be trying to pass the document off as "evidence" supporting Ms. Selcer claim. I should also note the claim by MN-GOP was "paid late", not "unpaid". If Hennepin County was reporting on their property tax website inaccurate information on 10/16/2012, then let's hear about it. Ms. Glander?? If Yvonne Selcer paid her property tax on time like she is publicly claiming in her formally lodged complaint, let's see some evidence that backs up her claim. Ms. Glander?? Hello?? Ms. Glander??? Oh, that's right, Patch Editor Becky Glander is still waiting for a "comment" from the Minnesota Republican Party while claiming Patch is "neutral" and unbiased.
David November 02, 2012 at 03:21 PM
Oh yes, the GOP is $2 million on debt so they shouldn't run the State. The DFL took a GOP-produced $2 BILLION surplus in 2007 and turned it into a $1 Billion deficit in ONE YEAR. And they added to it through 2010 to reach $6 billion deficit. And that's AFTER taking $2 billion from the schools in 2009-2010 (yes, that's right, the DFL took the school shift, not the GOP). The local DFL ads claim that their candidates are "fiscally responsible and disciplined" LOL what a joke. Selcer put every Hopkins taxpayer $3000 deeper in debt (an extra $120 million). Not one of these DFL hacks deny this because they can't. Hopkins debt increased by $3000 Page 102 of CAFR for Hopkins School District 270 FY ending 6-30-2011. The truth of who is fiscally responsible is easily found in the state budget books: A GOP Surplus to DFL deficts and back to GOP surplus. That's all you need to know about the DFL and their laughable claim of fiscal responsibility. Sources: $2.2 billion surplus 2006 (http://www.leg.state.mn.us/docs/2010/other/101582/www.governor.state.mn.us/mediacenter/pressreleases/2006/PROD007851.html) $1 billion shortfall 2008 (http://minnesota.publicradio.org/display/web/2008/02/28/forecasteconomy/) $6.2 billion shortfall 2010 (http://minnesota.publicradio.org/display/web/2010/12/03/state-budget-deficit-6-2-billion-governor/) $1.2 billion surplus this biennium (Nov. 2011 forecast + Feb. 2012 forecasts (http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/forecastarchives)
David November 02, 2012 at 03:29 PM
Dan says, "Just because the Republican party says something, does NOT make it true." Right back at you with the DFL, Danny Boy. Too Putz Tommy and John Mallo lied about a Stensrud constituent outreach event because they are ignorant of the law and both the Strib and PIM didn't bother to verify their allegations, they just printed them as 'facts.' So much for their so-called 'journalists.' And it would seem that Patch is following suit. If Selcer didn't get them paid by 10/15, then she was late, just as the MNGOP claimed. Funny how the DFL hacks like Too Putz and Beavis can change the GOP charge from "paid late" to "unpaid" and no one, from Glander here to the Strib, questions it or verifies it. I also went to J-school and was taught you needed 3 independent sources to verify an assertion. Patch, Strib and PIM didn't even bother with one. So, take your own medicine about who is speaking the truth and who is telling lies.
ChanFan November 02, 2012 at 04:57 PM
Let's remind everyone why the Minnesota Republican Party is in debt right now. The Minnesota Republican Party racked up all that debt because they were forced into an expensive election recount because voters lacked confidence in the election results. It had NOTHING to do with Republican Party "financial recklessness" as DFL activists like to lie about. All Minnesota polling show voters want photo ID for voting. Voters want it because Minnesota lacks integrity in election laws, is out of step with the election laws of other states, and voters lack confidence in the outcome. This is the same reason the MN GOP was forced into an expensive recount. There doesn't need to be existing voter fraud for voters to expect integrity to the voting process and desire confidence in the published results. My child was not allowed to take the ACT college entrance test until he had a valid photo ID of himself and he was 14 years old. ACT testing officials said, no photo ID, no test taking, no exceptions. I wasn't upset, it boosted my confidence in the integrity of the test results that will important to my child's future. Where are the protests for "College Testing Photo ID"?? Where are the claims that photo ID is keeping kids out of college?? There are no protests because parents and students want to have confidence in the results of ACT/SAT college testing. Elections are just as important as taking college entrance exams and should be held to the same photo ID standard.
ChanFan November 02, 2012 at 05:05 PM
I am not surprised this DFL activist is advocating for mindless voting. RE: "Vote straight DFL this year and throw the bums out."
Kathleen Nelson November 03, 2012 at 06:43 PM
Property taxes are due October 15th, not September. We were in the middle of refinancing our home at that time, and had to write a check for the property taxes due because the county doesn't verify payment EXACTLY on the payment date. The check was returned to us 2 weeks later after verification of on time payment. What a stupid, petty line of attack and lies. To pull this out of their butts in the last 2 weeks of the campaign is rotten. When all is said and done, I would love to see all the mailers and ads and accounts laid side to side, and see who has been more negative and spent more on trashing the other candidate rather than stating their positions HONESTLY so we could compare and vote with information. I went to the League of Women Voters website, and found thoughtful responses from Selcer and NO RESPONSE from Stensrud. Enough said about wanting the voters to know their candidates!
Kathleen Nelson November 03, 2012 at 07:01 PM
As I read through the assorted comments, I saw that Romney had been endorsed by way more newspapers in Minnesota than Obama had. This surprised me, so I did a web search, and sure enough, there were 10 papers listed as endorsing Romney. Even more intrigued, I checked out these endorsements. Amazingly, at least 8 of them were nearly identical, word for word! Turns out they are all papers owned by the same company, Forum Communications! So, I'm not buying the number comparison AND I think this should finally put the lie to the "liberal media" that the right so often criticizes. Corporations own the media these days, and corporations, for the most part, are NOT liberal! And apparently are not willing to let local community papers endorse locally.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »