UPDATE: New Legislative Districts For All In Minnetonka

Minnetonka officials studying maps to determine any impact on the city.

Minnetonka residents now reside in new state legislative districts.

A Minnesota Supreme Court panel drew new political boundaries for the state's eight congressional districts and 201 legislative districts. The plan places Minnetonka in House Districts 44B to the north, 48A to the south and a small portion of 49B to the northeast.

Minnetonka had previously been in House Districts 43B, 42A and 33B.

Visit the Legislative Redistricting site to enter your address and find your new district.

State Sen. Terri Bonoff, who now represents Senate District 44, lives safely within her district. The Senate District lost Medicine Lake and a portion of Plymouth to Senate District 46, consisting of St. Louis Park and Hopkins. State Rep. John Benson represents Minnetonka in House District 44B.

House District 33B, which covers Lake Minnetonka communities, will no longer cover any portion of Minnetonka. District 48 now encompasses that section of Minnetonka, located west on Highway 7. Senate District 48, represented by State Sen. David Hann and State Rep. Kirk Stensrud, has lost the section of Minnetonka (Lone Lake portion of Shady Oak Road) between I-494 and Highway 169 to Senate District 49 shared with the city of Edina, Bloomington and Eden Prairie.

Senate District 49 is currently represented by State Sen. Geoff Michel and House Distict 49B has State Rep. Pat Mazorol.

City of Minnetonka offcials are going through the information to determine the impact on city ward boundaries, according to City Clerk David Maeda.

"Looking at the map, it looks like the boundary between 44B and 48A follows Highway 7 for the most part similar to the old boundary between 43B and 42A," Maeda said. "We will have to make an adjustment to Ward 3 and Ward 1, but given the boundary between the legislative districts, it looks like it won’t require a major change."

The city remains in the Third Congressional District, represented by Republican Rep. Erik Paulsen.

Districts are adjusted every 10 years to ensure political representation reflects the most recent census data. The Legislature passed redistricting bills in 2011, but Gov. Dayton vetoed them as he said they lacked bipartisan support. It's nothing new for Minnesota, as courts have had to redraw the state's political boundaries four out of the last five decades.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »