.

Letter: 'I'm Disgusted By Negative Campaigning'

"I want to elect candidates who are skilled listeners, interested in collaborating with colleagues no matter what party s/he represents."

To the Editor:

Are you as disgusted as I by negative campaigning? 

Almost everyone I speak with is! Voters want to hear solutions from candidates, not negative comments about opponents.  

I have never registered with a party and am proud that in my long voting history, I have voted for candidates not parties. I do my homework and choose candidates who represent my beliefs.   

In this campaign season, I have been appalled by the negativity demonstrated in the state races. 

I have received 3-4 mailers sharing Representative Kirk Stensrud’s (48A incumbent) accomplishments; the reverse side of one of those included negative information about opponent, Yvonne Selcer. In addition, I have received 4 mailers specifically negatively representing opponent Selcer … All paid for by the “Republican Party of Minnesota.” 

I have no allegiance to ANY party; my allegiance is to candidates. My interest is in candidates’ solutions, not opinions of opponents. The negative approach shines a light on creating problems not solutions. I want to elect candidates who are skilled listeners, interested in collaborating with colleagues no matter what party s/he represents. This is what will generate solutions for the many tough issues we face. 

I urge you to become informed and choose candidates that demonstrate ability to listen, communicate and collaborate. The late Mattie Stephanek, one of my heroes who died at the young age of 13, said it best, “Unity is strength... when there is teamwork and collaboration, wonderful things can be achieved.” 

I urge our elected officials to take heed! 

Irene M. Kelly, Minnetonka

B. Martin October 07, 2012 at 05:56 PM
State-controlled media? What world are you living?
Political Mama October 07, 2012 at 06:11 PM
Another thought.... Who is vetting Selcer in her bid for state rep? Is everyone just taking her, inconsistent, word for it? What experiences gave her the ability to find the complex financial issues in Hopkins school dist??? WHERE did she teach? WHAT businesses did she work for? WHAT did she do for said businesses? Every business, whether they be a FORTUNE 500 corps to small business hire a wide range of employees from mail room to,board room. Who is vetting Selcer????
Political Mama October 08, 2012 at 12:37 PM
Kirk Stensrud Has been vetted over and over. Do you really think that the DFL would leave any stone unturned? He knocked Maria Rudd off her thrown. They didn't go down without a fight. We know where he grew up, where he went to school, where he worked, what he did and what business he owns. It would be completely irresponsible for somebody to take a candidate's word for it. Perhaps the real Sekcer should step forward for his place at the debate??? All I'm asking is where did she teach? What business did she run? Where was she a sales executive? Where is her teaching certificate from? She's made all kinds of claims about her past, but has offered no FACTS.
Daryl Fryxell October 08, 2012 at 01:59 PM
P.M., just ignore Rene. She's a liberal hack with a bad attitude because her candidates are going down in flames this year. As usual, liberals want a pass when it comes to their qualifications and experience. At the same time, they want every piece of dirt on their opponent down to whether he was reprimanded for throwing a spitball in third grade. Good grief.
Political Mama October 08, 2012 at 03:54 PM
The argument is won when the other side dissolves into insults. All I ask is for the Sekcer campaign is answer some questions about her reported background. Voters deserve to know WHAT her experience is. If they don't think it's important, the answer should be even more clear who the competent one is to represent them in St. Paul.
Daryl Fryxell October 08, 2012 at 06:00 PM
The headline of this letter is someone that is disgusted by negative campaigning. You know what? I am disgusted by fraudulent candidates. Yvonne Selcer needs to stop adjusting her resume and tell the truth about her alleged work experience. More importantly, the media needs to dig into her history and publish the real facts so that the voters have full disclosure before we cast our votes. Did you hear that, Patch? Can you get a reporter on this?
David October 08, 2012 at 06:33 PM
Well said, Mama. Selcer's website and Facebook pages have been 'evolving' when it comes to her work and teaching claims. Sounds to me like Yvonne embellished her resume a bit and is now backtracking so as not to get caught in the lie.
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 12:35 AM
DF. exactly my point. WHY isn't the local media ASKING? As usual they let a DFL candiate get by on their word and demand full tox screens for Repubs. Double standards?
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 12:37 AM
Thanks for proving my point Mr.Truth. Win for the good guys. Lets hope Selcer has her resume finalized by debate time.
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 12:40 AM
In the case,of state rep her BC matters not. I presume as a registered voter she is legal. However, I,understand Adobe works very well for doc re-creation.
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 12:41 AM
Why is it funny that he ran a window washing business? I wouldn't have a problem with either candidate if they had been a bus driver or a dish washer as long as they are honest about their experience.
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 12:42 AM
Mama, I can find out if she ever had a teaching certificate in the state of MN. I'll try to get back soon with that.
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 12:46 AM
Done. She was licensed to teach 1-6 grade. It expired June, 2006. Still curious where she taught, but I think we need to let this one go. http://education.state.mn.us/LicenseDisplay/searchAction.do?folderNumber=232945
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Wait a minute... Having a teacher's license does not mean you actually had a job as a teacher. Had she gotten a renewal it would have been proof because you have to have had at least 125 clock hours to get a renewal. Why won't she say where she taught so we can be done with this?
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 01:01 AM
Wow Jibble. Amazing. I don't doubt she was licensed. But special Ed requires more than that, and as you said, having the cert only means she COULD not that she did. Again, great info. How about all that exec experience? And financial wizardry as well.
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 01:01 AM
I agree on your first sentence. Let our side refrain from ad hominem and let the others actions speak for themselves. Every flyer I've gotten on her touts her as a teacher. It truly is bizarre she won't say where. I don't get it. If you lie on a resume and the background check finds you didn't go to school at x,y,z or didn't work at x,y,z.... you will not get hired.
Jibble October 09, 2012 at 01:01 AM
And frankly I could care less if she WAS a teacher. Not the least bit impressed by that. It means nothing.
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 01:07 AM
It goes to truth in facts. She said she taught. Ok. Great. Where? what? Kudos to her. But it's not about that, it goes to character. Dayton embellished his teacher record as well. Lol.
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 01:15 AM
Quality of character is far more important than a fancy job or embellished resume.
Political Mama October 09, 2012 at 01:24 AM
And the commenter named truth can only name call and respond condescendingly. Not really creating an environment for positive discourse.
Daryl Fryxell October 09, 2012 at 12:02 PM
If it wasn't for double standards, the liberal media would have no standards at all.
Yvonne S. October 09, 2012 at 03:10 PM
Gawd, will you never shut that pie hold of yours, Truth? I don't WANT your help! Go take your meds and STFU. I have enough trouble keeping my story straight for interviews without having to come on here and disavow your blather. Here's some "truth" for you. Get up out of your mom's basement, take a bath and go get a job.
Daryl Fryxell October 09, 2012 at 06:14 PM
P.M., I've noticed that liberal liars always accuse others of lying. Liberals constantly project their own traits onto others. They adopt names for themselves like, "truth" in an effort to convince themselves that they have cornered the market on truth. Unfortunately for them, the rest of the world is laughing because we all know that the liberal mind is unacquainted with the truth.
Daryl Fryxell October 09, 2012 at 06:18 PM
It's about time that Selcer came clean about her record. Where is 60 Minutes? Why doesn't some enterprising local reporter do some digging? Why don't they ambush her with a camera at her campaign office and ask her pointed questions? If a GOP candidate was accused of resume fraud, they'd have 15 media trucks parked on that candidate's front lawn at 3 a.m. ready to confront him/her. Why does this broad get a pass?
Jerry Schmidt October 09, 2012 at 07:54 PM
She's got a big "D" behind he. Therefore, all is well with the media in her case.
Irene Kelly October 12, 2012 at 02:44 AM
Oh, I can stand the heat! I'm not going anywhere. I find it interesting that apparently you are OK with negative campaigning. I'm all about TRUTH and do not condone negativity from either party. Let me repeat ... I am NOT (and never have been) affiliated with any party. In fact when living in New Jersey, I chose NOT to vote in primaries because I would have had to register with a party. I appall the negativity from either side ... bashing does NOT do it for me. It is incumbent on each of us as voters to be a "fact checker", look at records, attend the forums, talk with the candidates and then decide. Sounds like you may depend on the media to do your fact checking.
Daryl Fryxell October 12, 2012 at 03:20 PM
Irene, you don't have a clue what you are talking about. You falsely claim to be non-partisan and to be offended by all "negative campaigning," yet the only offending party or candidate you blame is Stensrud and the GOP. You are clearly not offended by the lies and fraud being perpetrated by his opponent, Selcer. Very revealing. Thus, the facts show that you are clearly one of those liberals who believes that she is so pure and untainted that party designation is beneath her. Nonsense. I will tell you again that there is nothing wrong with telling the truth about your opponent. If whiners like you choose to assign a "negative" label to it, that really is your problem and not mine.
Irene Kelly October 15, 2012 at 02:01 PM
Interesting learning for me ... prior to having written my original letter, I had literally seen only negative material paid for by the MN Republican Party except for one TV ad anti Chip Cravack ... that one was paid for by AFSME I believe ... I abhor that, as well. Since my original letter, I have seen other negative material put out by the DFL toward the GOP ... that is JUST as disgusting as those i described. Since I penned my original letter, I have seen ONE anti David Hann piece ... i ABHOR that as well. I have no time for any negative campaigning from ANYONE ... I have shared my opinion personally with two of the DFL candidates and will do so with the McKendry folks now that I have reason. Your desire to question MY truthfulness re party alignment is core to the problem ... some folks believe they are the only holder of the truth. It is absolutely false that I am associated with any party; I'm a moderate who is fiscally conservative and socially liberal. In fact, I believe Jenifer Loon is a stellar legislator; were I a resident in 48B, I would be voting for her!
Daryl Fryxell October 15, 2012 at 05:43 PM
Good night, Irene. The party's over.
Jibble October 29, 2012 at 10:05 PM
OK, Irene... Have you tallied who has put more negative stuff in your mailbox? We get both parties lit and it is hands DOWN the DFL. They sum it up: David Haan hates women and wants them to die of cancer and Kirk Stensrud is a special interest stooge who wants employees jobless and CEOs rich (how the hell does THAT work?!?) We just got the one with Kirk in a chef's hat eating CEO spaghetti. You seriously contrast this to the info the GOP mailed? Seriously?!? This **** is childish and it's going to backfire big time. Selcer, McKendry, and their SPECIAL INTERESTS are toast. Say good night, Gracie. And I love the "Republicans support Seltzer" - Arne Carlson? Nice try. He's about as Republican as the editorial staff at Mother Jones.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something